1.1 Making Decisions

04-02-16_9-30-21 PM

“That’s perfect!” exclaimed Charles as he bookmarked the internet page. “I can finally start my furniture business.”

“Dad…” he called out from his bedroom, “There’s something I wanna show you.”

“What is it?” asked his father.

He cleared his throat and began the speech he’d rehearsed the whole of last night,

“Ok, first of all, I want to tell you, how grateful I am for all thethings you’ve done for me. I mean, you always gifted me these amazing gifts for Christmas and bought whatever I asked you to. For… for example, remember when I was 5 and I’d seen this life-size stuffed dragon, and how I’d pestered you to buy that for me even though it wasn’t my birthday, and you said you’ll buy it for Christmas, but then I started banging my head on the wall at the toy store and everyone stared at me, so you finally had to agree and buy it for me?”

His father simply nodded with a skeptical look on his face.

“Yeah… so as I was saying, I’m really lucky to have such a cool dad like you, you know, who supports my every decision and-

04-02-16_9-34-27 PM

“Well, we’d agreed that you’d take up a job and earn the money for your  furniture store yourself. I can’t lend you $500 Charles!”

“But no dad, look. This one’s only for $250. The location’s not that great, but who cares?”

04-02-16_9-35-24 PM

04-02-16_9-37-27 PM

And the argument continued on for the next 30 minutes until Charles’ mother walked in and interrupted the two. She agreed with her husband on not lending the money but finally the two agreed to lend Charles half the amount while he would chip in the other half.

That night, Charles could not sleep. He twisted and turned in bed the whole night. He was partly excited about opening his retail business but partly worried about the $125 he had to make. He finally sat up thinking of all the possible ways he could make that much money.

PicMonkey Collage

(click to enlarge)

 

The next morning, at breakfast he declared, rather energetically,

04-02-16_10-02-26 PM

There was nothing exciting about working as a barista because that job didn’t pay enough to make $125; at least not in a week’s time. But Charles wanted to sound optimistic, though he hardly was in this situation.

“That’s great honey!” exclaimed his mother with equal enthusiasm.

His father, on the contrary, gave him a warm smile because he didn’t want to instill his son with false confidence. His father though tough and strict was extremely sensitive, too. He patted Charles on the back and said, “God luck son. Make us proud.”

These words were enough to boost his confidence. He gulped his cereal and walked out with his head high and an unusual sense of optimism and self-confidence. He knew he was going to rock his interview and nothing could stop him from achieving his goal.

9 thoughts on “1.1 Making Decisions

    • RemïNarrow says:

      Hahaha 😂 Because in the game, the stuffed animals are as big as the children! Tbh, I found that funny, too!
      I’m glad you’re enjoying the story, btw!

      Like

  1. Chicago-Style Girl says:

    I’m glad his parents didn’t bend on giving him the money. I’m trying not to feel concern for giving in to him stem he was a kid, looks they’ve been fighting against a mild sense on entitlement ever since.

    Still, Charles is adorable and I can’t wait to see him persevere and earn the money to start his business.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. lovesstorms says:

    Good for his parents! If I’d have been the father when my child banged their head on a wall, I’d have dragged them out of the store kicking and screaming if necessary. lol Thankfully, they’ve learned he needs to earn his way, too. So smart! 🙂

    Like

  3. ARoseInBloom says:

    The integration of the comics gives this story such a unique flair!

    I appreciate the compromise his family came up with for him. I think it’s so important to earn your own way, but know you have the support of those you love. I am rooting for Charles!

    Liked by 1 person

    • RemïNarrow says:

      I’m glad you liked the comic strips! I love doing that, it’s so much fun! You know, capturing the appropriate emotions of the sims and then adding dialogues! It’s super fun! 😁

      And yes! His parents are really cool people!

      Like

Leave a Reply

