1.14 We’re done

The next morning Charles checked his phone before getting out of bed, expecting to see a message from Laura. And to his surprise, she had in fact left him a message. It read-

04-10-16_9-38-088 PM

Try to make it if you can? Really? Not even ‘Please be there’ or ‘I’d love if you come to the party’? he thought to himself, shaking his head in grave disappointment.  He sighed, she didn’t even bother to ask about my health.

He spent all afternoon practicing his speech. He knew he’d stammer when he’d actually speak, but at this point it didn’t even matter. He wanted to tell her how dejected he felt.

 

He reached the Ancient Ruins by eight. He spotted Laura and waved at her, calling her over to where he stood.

“I’m glad you could make it!” she exclaimed. “Come on let’s go dance.”

“No wait” he interrupted, tugging at her hand. “I wanna talk to you about something.”

“Ok.”

“I wanna talk about us.” He paused for a minute, trying to recollect his speech. Then he proceeded,

ugh... are you done yet

He couldn’t believe it! Here he was, trying to start a conversation with her but all she cared about was partying. That’s it. I give up!

are you leaving

I don't care about these parties

“I do love you Charles!”

“Well I don’t think you do! Honestly, I thought you cared about me. But clearly all you care about is this” he said pointing at the clubbers.

“I thought you loved these parties just as much as I do!” she protested.

“I loved this because you loved it and because I love you! But I’m done pretending to be someone I’m not! I’m done getting drunk and dancing and partying the whole night, every night. I mean I’d rather spend my weekends with my family, having dinner in peace and actually having a real conversation with them. All we do here is dance and drink and… I’m tired of this. I’m not meant for this… for any of this. And even if that means I’m not meant for you, so be it.”

But I thought you loved parties...

“I’m not! I don’t care about any of this… this… this… party and these people and this Partihose club.”

“Partihaus” she corrected him.

“Whatever!” he yelled back. “I think we’re just two different people, who want different things from life. Guess I was wrong about what I had said earlier. The universe made a huge mistake, because clearly we were never meant to be friends. So you can go back to your party and I’ll go back to my house and if were ever bump into each other again, we could have a cup of coffee or grab a drink or something.”

Laura was out of words. She looked at him, speechless. When she did find the words, she opened her mouth to talk, but Charles interrupted, “No don’t. Don’t even say a word!” he yelled at her. “I don’t want any of your explanations. It’s over…

We're done

Saying this, he stomped out of there, trying his best to hold back the tears that were beginning to well up in his eyes…

 

16 thoughts on “1.14 We’re done

  1. Virtualee says:

    ::Throws confetti in the air:: I cannot explain why i am happy about this…don’t get me wrong I don’t want either of them to be miserable or necessarily break-up…I just want Laura to wake up and smell the coffee….I also wanted Charles to be himself!! SO I think that now IF they do get back together it will be a more holistic relationship you know?

    #TeamCharlesTellHerHowItIs !!! LOL

    Liked by 2 people

    • RemïNarrow says:

      I’m equally happy that Charles finally spoke up! He was definitely not gaining anything from this relationship. I guess he realized that a healthy relationship is one where there’s a lot of give-and-take. But all this while, Charles had only been ‘giving’ and not getting anything back!
      And if we were to consider Laura’s perspective, she was just being a selfish biatch 😛 In my opinion, this ship will be saved from sinking ONLY if Laura realizes her mistake, that is, (quoting you) ‘wakes up and smells the coffee’ 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Chicago-Style Girl says:

    I have a different perspective of what Laura’s reactionLaura’s reaction might be. For the last year, he’s been claiming to be into the same things she is, helping to set her up to feel secure in their friendship as being one way. And just like her parents, he pulled the rug out from underneath her, changing on a dime, with hardly any explanation. Almost everyone in her life flips the script on her with no warning. She has certainly played her role in their breakup, but she wasn’t the only one keeping things to herself.

    Liked by 1 person

    • RemïNarrow says:

      I love how you’ve taken Laura’s POV into consideration! I do blame Charles for this but you’ll know why Laura behaved the way she did in the upcoming chapters. I guess pretending to be someone you’re not is a bad idea after all.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Chicago-Style Girl says:

        It’s weird because I really identify with Laura even though we’re nothing alike. I’m a homebody, my parents lovingly raised me, I would never be a cop, lol. In spite if that, Laura is my girl.

        Liked by 1 person

      • RemïNarrow says:

        Haha I sense you’re a feminist! (correct me if I’m wrong 😛 ) But I have a strong feeling you are since you tend to think more from her perspective than Charles’ even though he’s the protagonist! 😄

        Liked by 1 person

      • Chicago-Style Girl says:

        I like to think of myself as a feminist. Not the traditional Gloria Steinem style feminist. But more of the new age intersectional feminist, a la Rowan Blanchard. I find myself usually identifying with the person with the most logical motivation (even if the emotional aspect is grating) and the person with the strongest personality. In this story, that’s Laura. Thought I must admit, I absolutely love Charles’s parents. In spite of them raising a spoiled kid, they’ve also raised him to be so compassionate and loving, and to stand up for himself. So I love them so.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. theplumbob says:

    You tell her Charles, time for her to see she’s been treating you like crap… Plus, wasn’t she planning to break up with him anyway? Really this should make the whole situation easier for her.

    Liked by 1 person

    • RemïNarrow says:

      Yes she has been treating him like garbage 😂 and the best part is that he realized this himself!
      And yes, she’s glad she didn’t have to do the whole “Sorry it’s not you.. it’s me.. we have to end it here…” thingy! 😝

      Like

  4. CitizenErased14 says:

    *standing ovation for Charles* This girl has got to get her shit together before she is worthy of Charles ❤ I hope she does!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

