1.16 Will you…?

Surprisingly, Laura showed up at the store the next day. Charles was speechless at first, didn’t know whether to smile or give her a friendly hug, so he decided to wave.

04-10-16_9-56-30 PM

04-10-16_9-54-44 PM

“I’m sorry!” he apologized, smiling sheepishly.

Then an awkward silence fell between them. They looked at each other, then at the ground, then around the store and back at each other, smiling uncomfortably the whole time.

Finally Laura decided to speak up, “I’ve been doing a lot of introspection, all these months. Thinking a lot about what you said.”

“Oh… I know I overreacted, right? I’m sorry I shouldn’t have yelled at you the way I did, but I was frustrated! It felt like I was the only one taking efforts and doing what you wanted and you were simply  avoiding me, so I-

“I was doing that on purpose” she interrupted him, “because I wanted us to break up. And I want to apologize for that. Bu-

“What?” Charles looked at her in disbelief, “why on earth would you want us to break up?”And then it clicked. Suddenly he felt like he knew exactly why. “Wait… I know! Because you never loved me. You were just playing with my feelings all this while!  Gosh I feel like a fool, now. How could you?” his voice was growing louder with every word he said. He could feel his ears getting hotter.

“No Charles, hear me out. I did want us to break up but only because I thought we could never be happy together, you know because of all the differences between us. I mean we have different aspirations and dreams that are poles apart! I was scared that we would never stay together, you know like forever. I was scared you might dump me because I can’t cook or do the dishes or the laundry or raise a family. I… I’m not like you Charles!”

“And neither am I!” he yelled in protest. “But that doesn’t mean it is the end of the world, does it? Laura, I tried so hard to ignore the differences between us, I pretended to love all those things you loved, but you simply didn’t care.”

“I know I didn’t and I feel awful for having done that to you. But I thought that was the right thing to do- to avoid you, to push you away to the extent that you’d break up with me; because there was no way I was going to break your heart ‘cause I really love you Charles. I love you more than you can imagine!
But when we did break up, I realized I couldn’t be happy without you. Each day started and ended with you in my mind. And then I realized I’d messed up everything between us. But now I know exactly what I have to do. All these months I’ve been thinking about all those efforts you were taking and I realized I was wrong. I knew I had to try and make this relationship work, because I love you too much to simply give up.
I gave it a thought, and I’ve come to the conclusion that getting married and starting a family may not exactly be my priority in life right now, but I could try reconsidering especially if you value these things. I guess it’s my turn to take the efforts. I know it’s difficult, but not entirely impossible. We can beat the odds; I mean we could at least try, right?”
“We could.” Charles heaved a sigh of relief as he began to realize everything was going to be fine.
Laura continued, walking closer to him, “I was a horrible girlfriend, Charles, but I promise you, I will try to be a better wife, if you give me the chance to be one.” Then without saying a word, she knelt and pulled out a ring.

04-12-16_5-35-22 PM

 

 

22 thoughts on “1.16 Will you…?

  1. ninjapigsims says:

    Whoa! What a huge turnaround at the end! I’m happy for them but that was so unexpected. Typical of Laura, I guess! xD

    (I really hope she doesn’t have any sinister intent toward him! D: )

    Liked by 1 person

  2. RemïNarrow says:

    Yes Laura is very unpredictable!
    But she doesn’t have any evil intentions of hurting Charles coz she’s not cold-hearted even though she gives the impression of being that! She’s only trying to not be a selfish biatch 😛 & sort of give him back by trying to make him happy by doing what he wants- which is why she decided to get married to him. Kinda complicated, I know 😂

    Like

  3. charliimai says:

    Huh? Was not expecting that 3 months apart and she comes back with a ring. I don’t know if it will end well she’s gone from commitment Phobe to Hopeless romantic in next to no time. Fingers crossed it’ll work out. :0

    Liked by 1 person

    • RemïNarrow says:

      Yes I know it may seem weird but since we don’t know what was going on in her mind for all those 3 months, we can’t really tell what her intentions are! (not that they’re evil or anything :D)

      Liked by 1 person

      • charliimai says:

        Good to know. I think Charles is so sweet I would hate for her to break his heart. Maybe he will be the one to repair hers and it’ll be a happy ending for all. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Chicago-Style Girl says:

    Boy! These two really go overboard when trying to meet their partner halfway. It takes big… cahones to propose after not talking at all for months. In a crazy way, I am happy she did it. Big gestures and all that, like standing outside a window with a jukebox, or this case a ring.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. theplumbob says:

    Wait what? That might have been a bit rash… I’m all for trying to rekindle their relationship and work through their differences, but they’re definitely not in a place to jump into marriage (especially since Laura is not completely sold on the concept itself). I hope he says no.

    Still not a huge fan of Laura to be honest. I get that she had a tough past, but the whole “we’ll break up one day so I’d rather not give it a chance” excuse sounds too much like a lot of BS I’ve heard in past relationships. People need to take responsibility of their actions, sheesh. But not by a big grand gesture that stands on a shaky ground to begin with (i.e. Laura’s proposal) but by trying to fix the mess they made…

    Liked by 1 person

    • RemïNarrow says:

      I agree with you…
      “People need to take responsibility of their actions, sheesh. But not by a big grand gesture that stands on a shaky ground to begin with, but by trying to fix the mess they made… ” A big thumbs up to that! 👍
      I feel they’re both still so young and naive, they get carried away so easily!
      But they DO need to sort things out before taking such massive decisions!!!

      Like

  6. Virtualee says:

    Holy Moly!! I did not expect that turn of events!! Not only is she a party girl but apparantly BOLD too!! Can’t wait to see if she ever talks about her thought process and change of heart! Catching up on your story this afternoon 🙂 YAY

    Liked by 1 person

  7. CitizenErased14 says:

    Hahahahaha oh my, I actually hope he says no! She is taking this way too far. It’s like Laura only things in extremes, y’know? She needs to calm down and re-assess herself and the situation and talk things out more with Charles. Oh goodness, I’m afraid to read the next chapter and see what he says! 😛

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

