1.31 Two months, three weeks

When they returned home that night, Laura locked herself in the bathroom and cried for half an hour.

locked herself in the bathroom

As she sobbed quietly she recollected the horror of that night.

recollected the horror of that night

How could have Charles attacked her that way, in front of everyone? She was so embarrassed at the nightclub, as everyone around began gossiping while staring at her wide-eyed. Her own friends had been whispering in each other’s ears and giggling the whole time.

her friends giggled

Melanie and Carl had escaped the scene saying that it was getting too late and that their families would be worried if they stayed any longer. How helpless she’d felt; not knowing who to talk to. Eva wouldn’t pick up her phone and so she was left with no shoulder to cry on and no one to console her, but herself.

When she walked out of the bathroom, her vision had become blurry and her eyes pricked because of all the crying. She realized Charles had been sitting on the couch, and the moment he saw her, he stood up and began moving towards her.

he began moving towards her

But Laura ignored him and went straight to bed.

she ignored him

That night, Charles did not sleep in the same bed as her and despite being glad, Laura was curious to know where he was sleeping, whether he was okay, but she never bothered getting out of bed and checking on him.

did not sleep

He had hurt her too much and she realized he did not deserve any undue attention.

***

The next evening they went to the hospital to confirm Laura’s pregnancy. After giving her blood samples, Laura and Charles sat in the waiting room in awkward silence.

The silence, however was broken by Laura who kept muttering the same words over and over again.

“This is a mistake… I can’t be pregnant… I’m not pregnant… This is a mistake… I’ve made a mistake… This is only a nightmare… I’m not pregnant. This is a nightmare…”

Charles who was sitting right beside her was tired of hearing Laura chant those words like a prayer. He was already upset with the way things had gone haywire because of Laura’s pregnancy. His head was pounding since he hadn’t slept well last night and to top it all, Laura was adamant about aborting the baby. Their baby.

“Will you just stop?” he finally hissed, when he couldn’t take it anymore.

But Laura simply ignored him and continued until Charles placed his hand over hers, and the moment their hands touched she pulled her hand away with a jerk and looked up at him with rage,

don't touch me... i will never forgive u

Those words of hers hit him right in the gut and he looked away as shame and guilt engulfed him. After a while, he looked back at her and said, in a softer tone, “Laura I’m sorry for the way I acted last night”

He tried placing his hand on hers again, but she repeated her action and her words, “I said don’t touch me. And I’ll never forgive you.”

Tears welled up in her eyes and before long, she began to sob softly.

06-11-16_4-55-06 PM

Charles felt a stab in his heart. If only he could go back in time and undo what he had done. What had happened to him last night? How could he have hurt Laura; physically abuse her? That thought made him shudder and he looked away.

felt a stab in his heart

The old woman opposite them stared intently as Laura’s sobs grew louder and echoed around the waiting room.

stared intently

Charles moved closer and put his arm around Laura’s shoulder to comfort her, but she moved farther away.

you're making a scene

he said through gritted teeth, then looking up at the old woman he gave her an awkward smile.

gave her an awkward smile
Thankfully, the receptionist walked in at that moment and called out Laura’s name. Charles heaved a sigh of relief realizing this was the perfect opportunity to escape the awkward situation and he followed Laura into the office.

When they walked into the doctor’s office, they were greeted by the doctor, a blonde in her later thirties, Charles observed, and were offered a seat.

Charles was anxious and his breath became uneven as he grew eager to know the results. He turned his head to look at Laura and realized she was just as nervous as he was.

he looked at Laura

The doctor took her time, going through a few sheets of paper

the doctor took her time

then looking up at the couple she smiled warmly. “So… I have your test results here with me…

congratulations

two months...

“Yes that’s right. Umm… you are healthy and absolutely ready to carry the baby.” Her smile then began disappearing as she said, “We did find some traces of alcohol in your blood, and I wanted to inform you that it can severely affect your child’s development and-”

i'm going for an abortion

Laura spoke before the doctor could finish.

“No she’s not.” Charles said shaking his head.

that's not your decision to take... this is my body my decision

but this is our child... you can't take such a big decision on your own

you have no right to tell me..

I'm the fathe of that baby

and that gives me the right to speak...

Sir...

the doctor interrupted him, “…don’t forget this is a hospital. Please be calm.” she smiled. Then looking at Laura, she said,

the state gives you complete authority to decide

she took a dramatic pause, then continued “as long as it’s done before the end of twelve weeks. Which means, you only have a week to decide.”

06-11-16_6-52-04 PM

18 thoughts on “1.31 Two months, three weeks

  1. RosemaryMarie says:

    Wow. What a dilemma. Seems like they’re on real shaky ground. I’m really looking forward to what happens next!

    P.S. I went to the forum and realized you’d tagged me i a conversation. Thank you so much for thinking of me. I’m sorry I’m so late to the part, though. lol I will try to remember to check the forum everyday so that doesn’t happen again. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. julyvee94 says:

    Two words: Break up. Seriously, these two will never get better. I have lost all my faith in and love for their relationship. They are both being incredibly selfish and for the last few chapters I only feel like they are bringing out the worst in each other – plus, they still aren’t entirely honest, especially Laura. *gets torpedo ready to sink this ship* 😀

    Liked by 5 people

    • RemïNarrow says:

      Wow you and cecerose (Chicago-Style Girl) have some strong (and completely opposite) opinions!! You can’t wait for them to break up and she can’t wait for them to get better 😝😂
      I’m lovin’ it! No, seriously I am! Y’all are so invested in this story and in these characters’ lives and that makes me so happy!

      And btw, we’ll see how they deal with this; whether they break up AGAIN (this would be like, the thousandth time they’ll be ending their relationship?) or whether they make some compromises like real mature adults!

      Liked by 1 person

      • julyvee94 says:

        haha I wish they would finally sit down and talk maturely instead of throwing tantrums (both of them). I can’t really see their relationship getting better after all they’ve been through but you’re the writer so go ahead 😀 I am super invested, take that as a compliment xD but at the moment I just think they would be better off alone or dating people with similar views on family and kids.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Chicago-Style Girl says:

    I think it’s just me and Charlie who are left fighting for this relationship. I don’t know what I would do if I were a man and the mother of my child were sitting at a bar drinking and talking about getting an abortion. You really know how to dig them deeper don’t you? Their only chance at this point is for her to actually speak about why she is so sure she’ll be a bad mother. Sigh, I’m just going to sit here on the bench all by myself, waving my little Laura + Charles = 💖 flag.

    Liked by 1 person

    • RemïNarrow says:

      Haha your comment made me smile the first time I read it (which was last night and my lazy ass forgot to reply back), and even a day after I’m smiling again! 🙂

      It’s definitely tough for a guy who desperately wants a baby to see his partner “declare” that she’s going for an abortion. And it’s especially difficult for him because he’s really not in control of the situation. It’s her body and he can’t exactly force her to do what he wants. Poor Charlie *sigh*

      “Their only chance at this point is for her to actually speak about why she is so sure she’ll be a bad mother”
      Hmm… well you secretly look at my notes or peep into my head, don’t you?! How do you always get these things right!!! 😍
      I bow down to you 🙏 😜

      And about the flag thingy… you’re not alone sista! We’re together on #TeamCharlaura 😎

      Liked by 1 person

  4. O'jenn says:

    I have very strong feelings about this…because life and things but I won’t voice them. Just know that I am on #TeamCharleshappiness and this is not helping him be happy. C’mon Charles!

    Like

      • pollyannasims says:

        Just to clarify – I really like your story- but if Charles was a real person, I wouldn’t want a friend of mine dating him. And for some reason feel protective of Laura. She’s silly, but she’s a little lost too. So I feel a bit protective…
        I think it’s a credit that you’ve written characters that people can dislike because in reality most people won’t like every person they meet, so you’ve captured reality!

        Liked by 1 person

      • RemïNarrow says:

        Aww thanks Pollyanna! I’m so glad you’re enjoying my story so much! That means a lot to me! 🙂

        I feel making flawed characters lets the readers relate better to them and like you said, it also adds a touch of reality!

        Like

Leave a Reply

