Interlude (Part 3): Are you kidding me?

When Laura entered the store, it was completely empty. She was about to walk up to their studio apartment when she heard some sounds coming from the basement. Walking down, she saw Charles working on the woodworking table.”

what are you doing down here

she asked climbing down the stairs.

But he simply ignored her and continued his work. She walked up to him and said cheerfully,

whatever you're making, it better be a bassinet

Charles looked up at her instantly. “A bassinet?” he asked, clearly confused.

uh huh... we'll need for our baby seven months from now

Our baby? I thought you didn’t want the baby.”

I know, but I changed my mind after what you told me...

what's wrong with you, huh...

Laura widened her eyes in shock, her jaw dropped while her brows furrowed in confusion. How could Charles ever call her that? Laura was deeply offended and she yelled, “Stop calling me a freak.

Charles yelled back in response, “Well then stop acting like one!” Then imitating her, he said.

Charles, let's get married; nah I'm not the marrying type...

Laura couldn’t believe he would say that to her. This wasn’t the kind of reaction she was expecting. She was certain he would be happy to find out that her decision was in his favor but it seemed that she wasn’t the only one who had changed her mind about the baby; Charles had a change of mind, too. She wondered what had brought about this change and more importantly, why had he changed his mind all of a sudden!

well isn't that exactly what you wanted me to do...

“Laura, I’m backing off because I’ve realized something. You know how reality strikes all of a sudden and you realize how stupid you’ve been all along? Well, that happened to me the moment you barged out of the room without saying a word. I realized I was a fool thinking we could do this. Laura, we’re different people who want different things from life. I had realized this long back, but I thought we could work it through. I believed in myself, I believed in you. But we’ve been on a roller coaster ride ever since. And I’m simply tired of doing this over and over again. I’m tired of trying to make this relationship work, despite knowing that neither of us can be happy together.”

Well I'm trying, too. I want us to be happy..

…And I know we’ll be happy because I saw it with my own eyes. I saw me and you and our daughter and we were all happy together.”

Charles chuckled under his breath. “Are you kidding me?” he said, shaking his head while grinning at her. “I knew something was wrong with you. Your abnormal mood swings, your abnormal behavior. And now, this…  you’re hallucinating, aren’t you? Why won’t you tell me the truth? Are you ill?”

Oh my god.

I... I'm not. I'm fine,

“Of course you’re not okay. You would believe in mere visions and change your mind about keeping the baby? You think I’m a fool to not see clearly? You’ve been lying to me all along, Laura. Our whole relationship has been a lie. We have lied to each other, and I’m seriously tired of lying and pretending. You say you want this baby and that it’ll make you happy, but I know you’re lying. You’re doing this only because I asked you to. And I don’t want us to repeat the mistakes we’ve made in the past. Hell, I want to right the wrong that we’ve done; that I’ve done. And you know what’s on top of the list of the mistakes I’ve made?…

That's falling in love with you. Gosh how I regret it-

Laura stood there, frozen as her feet and hands went numb. She was certain what she had heard weren’t his words but like he had said, she was merely hallucinating, hearing all these voices say such terrible things. She kept reminding herself that she was only dreaming and that her nightmare would end soon. But after looking at the disgust on Charles’ face, she realized she was witnessing reality. Very helplessly, she asked,

So you're.. we're... what are you going to do

Isn't that obvious... we're done Laura. We have to end this...

“No, Charles you promised we’ll work this out”, she cried.

But he simply shrugged. “I can’t go on, Laura.” After a rather dramatic pause, he said firmly,

Give the baby up for adoption. And leave my apartment. I can't do this. We're done forever...

No... please Charles please.

Laura fell weak in her knees and felt a twist in her gut. Tears streaked her cheeks almost instantly and her whole body trembled as she weakly stretched out her arms to stop him, but Charles walked up the stairs and before long he had disappeared into the shadows…

 

 

12 thoughts on “Interlude (Part 3): Are you kidding me?

  1. EddieSims says:

    That didn’t go how I thought it would. I’m surprised by Charles’ reaction though I understand it. He’s reached his breaking point with Laura and he just wants to cut his losses but does he really mean what he’s saying? I mean, he’s always wanted a child so to tell Laura that he wants no part of the baby’s life just doesn’t seem like him. I’m hoping his anger got the better of him and he’ll change his mind because honestly, with all of Laura’s unresolved issues, that kid needs him!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. julyvee94 says:

    Wow that really was intense. I’m happy for charles to finally see what I was seeing all along: that he and laura will never work out. On the other hand I feel sorry for Laura being left alone with a baby – so I kinda still want to slap Charles for doing that. Maybe if Laura were honest with him about her illness things would be different.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. CitizenErased14 says:

    Charles gets a standing ovation from me! He’s finally calling Laura out on her shit and I’m very proud of him for that! I mean obviously he isn’t perfect either, but Laura needed a wake up call and I’m glad she got it.

    Now I will just wait for them to inevitably get back together again… *sigh* 😛 Haha but if they don’t and she ends up not giving away the baby I hope Charles will be in their child’s life!

    This chapter was very intense and well-written. Great job!

    Liked by 1 person

    • RemïNarrow says:

      Tehehe who wouldn’t feel bad for Laura? Charles is acting like a douche, but he’s right too, you know? Laura needs to get her ish together.

      Thanks for reading! And so so sorry for the late reply! I’m a lazy bum :/

      Like

  4. RosemaryMarie says:

    I can sort of see where Charles is coming from since Laura has changed her mind so drastically and so often. I mean, what if he does commit to her and then she suddenly decides again that she wants an abortion or something? In a way, I think he’s protecting himself. On the other hand, it was really hard to see him tell her to just give the baby up for adoption. I mean, only hours before this, he was strong arming her into keeping the baby. I look forward to seeing how this is handled. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • RemïNarrow says:

      Yes it seems like Charles has changed his mind very drastically, too! You have read the next chapter so you already know the reality haha! I’m glad you enjoyed the twist in the story :p
      Thanks for reading!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

